Home > legislation, recycle > D-Day is Coming to Delaware

D-Day is Coming to Delaware

November 29th, 2010 Leave a comment Go to comments

Delaware is no longer a Bottle Bill state! Redeem all of your containers now–before it’s too late.

The Delaware Beverage Container Law (aka “the Bottle Bill”) is undergoing a dramatic change. Please be aware that in early 2011, returnable beverage containers will no longer be refundable. Information on the current Delaware Beverage Container Law (some aspects taking effect in December 2010, others in early 2011), can be found here. Information below explains the changes in beverage container sales and returns as mandated through Senate Bill 234.

Background

On June 8, 2010, Senate Bill 234 was signed into law. This piece of legislation does many things, one of which is replacing the Delaware Beverage Container Law. The 5¢ deposit will transition into a 4¢ fee. This fee will go into a temporary recycling fund that will help expand recycling programs. This fee will automatically be removed in 2014. Beginning in early 2011, beverage containers will not be redeemable in Delaware for a deposit. Several opportunities exist for you to recycle beverage containers. You can learn about those opportunities by contacting your waste hauler (or other waste haulers), the Delaware Solid Waste Authority, or the Solid & Hazardous Waste Management Branch.

Consumers

  • You will no longer be able to redeem returnable beverage containers after January 31, 2011.
  • Stores will continue to refund deposits until that date.
  • The definitions and responsibilities with regard to this process will remain in effect until January 31, 2011.

Dealers/Retailers

  • Starting December 1, 2010, you should not be charging deposits on returnable beverage containers.
  • You must continue to refund returnable beverage containers to consumers through January 31, 2011. The definitions and responsibilities with regard to this process will remain in effect through that date.
  • As of February 1, 2011 you will no longer have that responsibility and you should no longer refund deposits to consumers.
  • You have until February 28, 2011 to redeem returnable beverage containers to distributors.
  • You will need to remit the 4¢ per beverage container fee to the Division of Revenue. This begins December 1, 2010 and includes the types of beverage containers that previously held a Delaware deposit value.

Retail Beverage Container License and Recycling Fee frequently-asked questions

Distributors/Manufacturers

  • Starting December 1, 2010, you should not be charging deposits on returnable beverage containers.
  • You must continue to refund returnable beverage containers to dealers through February 28, 2011. The definitions and responsibilities with regard to this process will remain in effect through that date.
  • As of March 1, 2011 you will no longer have that responsibility and you should no longer refund deposits to dealers.

We’re sorry to see Delaware revert its recycling policies–now we’re down to ten bottle bill states. With some luck and a bit of hard work, Tennessee and Texas will soon join those ten.

Original posting available on the State of Delaware site

    • Pingback: Tweets that mention D-Day is Coming to Delaware | Collect. Connect. Recycle. -- Topsy.com()

    • Every 1 ton of plastic recycled can save amount of water that can be used by 1 person for 2 months or almost 1800 pounds of oil or 1 year of 2 people’s energy requirement. Over it, recycling plastic saves money this optimizing resources as well as consumer surpluses.

    • Briddes

      I usually only buy soda during the summer so I just recently found out about this new tax (oops, I meant fee).  This is higher than the 6% that I would pay in Pennsylvania.  Looks like I will be shopping in PA instead of the Tax-Free Shopping state.